Commodities

Vessels working in dock

Port of Sunderland is a conventional cargo port that can handle and store any type of commodity.

Port of Sunderland has two deep water river berths and over 2KM of safe, in dock, quay frontage that can handle a diverse range of commodities.

With mobile cranes capable of handling 240T lifts and 32 tonne forklift trucks the port is ready and able to handle any type of commodity to and from vessels up to 200m in length. 

Regular traffic includes:

  • Dry bulks
  • Grain/feedstuffs
  • Forest Products
  • Oil/petroleum
  • Other Liquid bulk
  • Offshore
  • General cargo
  • Project cargo (heavy lift)
  • Unitised cargoes, including containers

Get in touch with our team at Port of Sunderland

Matthew Hunt
Port Director
matthew.hunt@sunderland.gov.uk
07796 314 812
Captain Kevin Ullah
Harbour Master
captain.ullah@sunderland.gov.uk
Keith Middleton
Cargo Operations Manager
keith.middleton@sunderland.gov.uk
07824 608 779
Neil Mearns
Marine Services Manager / PFSO
neil.mearns@sunderland.gov.uk
0771 409 6352
Karen Lindsay
Commercial Officer
karen.p.lindsay@sunderland.gov.uk
07880 462 052
Jon Holvey
Port Engineering Manager
john.holvey@sunderland.gov.uk
07825 073 691
Darren Day
Logistics Manager
darren.day@sunderland.gov.uk
07810 203 743