Port of Sunderland: Future developments information session

Aerial view of Port of Sunderland

Monday 25 February 2019 at 6pm

The Chance Centre, 2 Rickaby Street, East End, Sunderland, SR1 2DL

Port of Sunderland is one of the major economic regeneration sites in the North East and was awarded Enterprise Zone (EZ) status in 2015. The status is designed to make the port more attractive to investors and has the potential to create 200 direct jobs and many more through the supply chain over a 20 year period.

The new EZ will focus on providing excellent facilities for businesses in the offshore renewables, subsea manufacturing and construction sectors, as well as a base for companies that can utilise the marine facilities of the port.

The 8.2 hectare Hendon Sidings and East Shore EZ aims to deliver site remediation and infrastructure works at the port. It comprises the creation of 25,500m² of commercial floorspace, 45,000m² of external storage and associated strategic infrastructure at Hendon Sidings and East Shore to facilitate the expansion of the port through inward investment.

East Shore indicative plans

Hendon Sidings

After a period of rapid growth and investment the port is embarking on a programme of strategic works to enable export-driven activities to take place including improvements to the internal road system, resurfacing and strengthening works to quaysides and reconnecting and extending the existing national railway line.

There has been recent investment in new cranage, warehousing and a materials handling plant, developing the port’s commercial offer and ensuring it retains its capabilities in the future.

Following completion of the proposed works the port will be extremely well placed to attract new businesses and create new jobs through business investment.

It will also support regional business growth by providing improved transport, connectivity and infrastructure.

For further information come along to the Chance Centre on Monday 25 February at 6pm.

Get in touch with our team at Port of Sunderland

Matthew Hunt
Port Director
matthew.hunt@sunderland.gov.uk
07796 314 812
Captain Kevin Ullah
Harbour Master
captain.ullah@sunderland.gov.uk
Michael Morrison
Business Development Manager
michael.morrison@sunderland.gov.uk
07824 301 898
Keith Middleton
Cargo Operations Manager
keith.middleton@sunderland.gov.uk
07824 608 779
Neil Mearns
Marine Services Manager / PFSO
neil.mearns@sunderland.gov.uk
0771 409 6352
Karen Lindsay
Commercial Officer
karen.p.lindsay@sunderland.gov.uk
07880 462 052
Jon Holvey
Port Engineering Manager
john.holvey@sunderland.gov.uk
07825 073 691
Darren Day
Logistics Manager
darren.day@sunderland.gov.uk
07810 203 743