Marine Services

Port of Sunderland offers a wide range of services including pilotage, mooring and towage, waste management and water patrol services. For further information on any of these services, please select a service below.

Find out more about the pilotage, mooring and towage services available at the Port of Sunderland.
Staffed by a team of Maritime and Coastguard Agency accredited Local Port Services operators, Port Control is at the hub of port operations.
The Port of Sunderland Waste Management Plan fulfils statutory duties to provide waste reception facilities for vessels using the port.
Established in 2012, a team of experienced Port of Sunderland water patrol officers operate between Easter and the end of September each year.

Get in touch with our team at Port of Sunderland

Matthew Hunt
Port Director
matthew.hunt@sunderland.gov.uk
07796 314 812
Captain Kevin Ullah
Harbour Master
captain.ullah@sunderland.gov.uk
Keith Middleton
Cargo Operations Manager
keith.middleton@sunderland.gov.uk
07824 608 779
Neil Mearns
Marine Services Manager / PFSO
neil.mearns@sunderland.gov.uk
0771 409 6352
Karen Lindsay
Commercial Officer
karen.p.lindsay@sunderland.gov.uk
07880 462 052
Jon Holvey
Port Engineering Manager
john.holvey@sunderland.gov.uk
07825 073 691
Darren Day
Logistics Manager
darren.day@sunderland.gov.uk
07810 203 743