Regulations & Parameters

Situated at the mouth of the River Wear, the harbour is safe and easy to navigate, the entrance being protected by Roker and New South Piers.

Within these protecting piers, the Old North and South Piers are situated on either side of the river entrance, beyond which is the inner harbour.

The current operational port area encompasses the South Docks and river berths on the south side of the River Wear, seaward of the western end of Corporation Quay.

Local Port Services (LPS), situated in the Port Control building on Greenwells Quay, operates a 24-hour Port Information Service on channels VHF 11, 14 and 16 using the call sign ‘Sunderland Harbour Radio’.

The port operates in accordance with standard codes and regulations.

The harbour channel has been dredged to a depth of 7.50m LAT, with a depth of 8.50m LAT at Corporation Quay itself (these depths are subject to siltation).
Our Emergency Plan provides an effective response to serious incidents within Port of Sunderland, whether on board ships or within the land and buildings under its jurisdiction.
Although care has been taken to ensure the accuracy of information, Port of Sunderland or Sunderland City Council will not be responsible for any inaccuracies which may occur.

Get in touch with our team at Port of Sunderland

Matthew Hunt
Port Director
matthew.hunt@sunderland.gov.uk
07796 314 812
Captain Kevin Ullah
Harbour Master
captain.ullah@sunderland.gov.uk
Michael Morrison
Business Development Manager
michael.morrison@sunderland.gov.uk
07824 301 898
Keith Middleton
Cargo Operations Manager
keith.middleton@sunderland.gov.uk
07824 608 779
Neil Mearns
Marine Services Manager / PFSO
neil.mearns@sunderland.gov.uk
0771 409 6352
Karen Lindsay
Commercial Officer
karen.p.lindsay@sunderland.gov.uk
07880 462 052
Jon Holvey
Port Engineering Manager
john.holvey@sunderland.gov.uk
07825 073 691
Darren Day
Logistics Manager
darren.day@sunderland.gov.uk
07810 203 743