Who we are

Port of Sunderland gateway to the North Sea

In an excellent location on the North East coast of the UK, Port of Sunderland is ideally situated to play a key role in the future offshore wind farm development zones such as Dogger Bank and Hornsea.

 

Minutes from open sea

  • Deep water berths
  • Heavy lift craneage
  • Immediate cargo laydown and warehousing

One owner/one operator

  • Over 250 acres of area
  • Agile management team
  • Quick decision making

City centre connectivity

  • Close to national rail station
  • Excellent links to international airport
  • Enhanced road network to port
  • Access to highly skilled workforce

24/7 operating

  • Operational at all times of the year

Development sites

  • Prime land available adjacent to berths
  • Excellent road access around the port
  • High grade utilities
  • Enterprise Zone sites

The harbour channel, between the outer piers and west end of Corporation Quay, has been dredged to a depth of 7.50m LAT, with a depth of 8.50m LAT at Corporation Quay itself).  

Reliance should not be placed solely upon published data regarding water depths since it is subject to siltation. Where appropriate, advice should be sought from the harbour master.

Get in touch with our team at Port of Sunderland

Matthew Hunt
Port Director
matthew.hunt@sunderland.gov.uk
07796 314 812
Captain Kevin Ullah
Harbour Master
captain.ullah@sunderland.gov.uk
Keith Middleton
Cargo Operations Manager
keith.middleton@sunderland.gov.uk
07824 608 779
Neil Mearns
Marine Services Manager / PFSO
neil.mearns@sunderland.gov.uk
0771 409 6352
Karen Lindsay
Commercial Officer
karen.p.lindsay@sunderland.gov.uk
07880 462 052
Jon Holvey
Port Engineering Manager
john.holvey@sunderland.gov.uk
07825 073 691
Darren Day
Logistics Manager
darren.day@sunderland.gov.uk
07810 203 743