Land and Property

Land and property

Port of Sunderland is a fully connected multimodal hub for the North East of England, offering a wide range of development sites suitable for manufacturing, port-related storage and distribution, offshore operations and maintenance industries and similar activities.

The port was reconnected the national rail network in 2015 and further investment has developed a railhead next to the deep water berth at Corporation Quay and storage area of Endurance Park.

Available sites include two large Enterprise Zones offering significant benefits including enhanced capital allowances: East Shore Enterprise Zone (available 2020) and Hendon Sidings (available 2021).  Both offer the rare combination of a prime Enterprise Zone development site within an operational port.  In addition, the two development sites have been the subject of major enabling engineering works: part of a combined £8.2m investment in the port that has been channelled through the North East Local Enterprise Partnership, providing a further incentive to those looking to establish a long-term operation on the port estate. 

All Port of Sunderland sites benefit from high-level port security, quay access, potential rail access -and have mains electricity, gas and water available along with fast fibre connectivity.

Most sites are available immediately on new leases.

The port also offers a dry dock facility within the port estate along with dedicated project offices – all available for third party use.

Get in touch with our team at Port of Sunderland

Matthew Hunt
Port Director
matthew.hunt@sunderland.gov.uk
07796 314 812
Captain Kevin Ullah
Harbour Master
captain.ullah@sunderland.gov.uk
Keith Middleton
Cargo Operations Manager
keith.middleton@sunderland.gov.uk
07824 608 779
Neil Mearns
Marine Services Manager / PFSO
neil.mearns@sunderland.gov.uk
0771 409 6352
Karen Lindsay
Commercial Officer
karen.p.lindsay@sunderland.gov.uk
07880 462 052
Jon Holvey
Port Engineering Manager
john.holvey@sunderland.gov.uk
07825 073 691
Darren Day
Logistics Manager
darren.day@sunderland.gov.uk
07810 203 743
Andy Foster
Business Development Manager
andrew.foster@sunderland.gov.uk
07824 301 898