COVID-19

port update

Port of Sunderland has implemented a number of measures to ensure it remains fully operational during the current COVID-19 pandemic. 

It is essential to remain open and continue our role in enabling the flow of goods in to and out of the port for the benefit of the region and UK as a whole in order to keep the country moving at this critical time.

The port has taking significant steps to limit the spread of COVID-19 and as always, the safety and wellbeing of staff and anyone working on site is our number one priority.

We will continue to monitor the situation and follow guidance and advice from, among others, UK government, Public Health England and Sunderland City Council.

To view the Pilot Embarkation Special Procedures please click here.

In cooperation with the UK Government the British Ports Association (BPA) has compiled a compendium of information for all UK ports in relation to COVID-19. The ports industry undertakes a vital role in the UK economy, facilitating trade, fuel, energy, fishing, recreation and tourism. All tiers of Government and the industry are committed to UK ports staying open to help sustain the country during this challenging time.

For the very latest advice and guidance please visit the official Government website

Get in touch with our team at Port of Sunderland

Matthew Hunt
Port Director
matthew.hunt@sunderland.gov.uk
07796 314 812
Captain Kevin Ullah
Harbour Master
captain.ullah@sunderland.gov.uk
Michael Morrison
Business Development Manager
michael.morrison@sunderland.gov.uk
07824 301 898
Keith Middleton
Cargo Operations Manager
keith.middleton@sunderland.gov.uk
07824 608 779
Neil Mearns
Marine Services Manager / PFSO
neil.mearns@sunderland.gov.uk
0771 409 6352
Karen Lindsay
Commercial Officer
karen.p.lindsay@sunderland.gov.uk
07880 462 052
Jon Holvey
Port Engineering Manager
john.holvey@sunderland.gov.uk
07825 073 691
Darren Day
Logistics Manager
darren.day@sunderland.gov.uk
07810 203 743