Our markets

Port of Sunderland handles a diverse range of commodities across its quays

With plenty of high quality warehouse storage and acres of open storage areas Port of Sunderland is in a prime location to handle your cargo and goods.

The port can comfortably handle up to handymax size vessels and benefits from great experience in this sector, with a wide range of commodities regularly passing through the port.
Port of Sunderland boasts extensive storage facilities, and with impressive and improving transport links, infrastructure is in place for cost effective and efficient distribution of cargoes.
The port has several operation sites for the handling of goods by rail around the dock and can undertake the handling of goods with our own equipment.
Ideally positioned on the North East Coast of the UK, Port of Sunderland plays a key role in Round 3 offshore wind farm development zones such as Dogger Bank and Hornsea.

Get in touch with our team at Port of Sunderland

Matthew Hunt
Port Director
matthew.hunt@sunderland.gov.uk
07796 314 812
Captain Kevin Ullah
Harbour Master
captain.ullah@sunderland.gov.uk
Michael Morrison
Business Development Manager
michael.morrison@sunderland.gov.uk
07824 301 898
Keith Middleton
Cargo Operations Manager
keith.middleton@sunderland.gov.uk
07824 608 779
Neil Mearns
Marine Services Manager / PFSO
neil.mearns@sunderland.gov.uk
0771 409 6352
Karen Lindsay
Commercial Officer
karen.p.lindsay@sunderland.gov.uk
07880 462 052
Jon Holvey
Port Engineering Manager
john.holvey@sunderland.gov.uk
07825 073 691
Darren Day
Logistics Manager
darren.day@sunderland.gov.uk
07810 203 743